Board of Trustees

Learn about the nine trustees that make up the board.

Trustee Login

Trustees can go to the login page to view additional information about board meetings, finances, projects, and other district items.

Trustee login page

Current Board of Trustees

Jordan Valley Water is governed by a board of nine Trustees who represent eight geographical divisions. They are nominated either by the Salt Lake County Council or a city council, depending upon the division they represent. The Governor then appoints Trustees for a four-year term from those nominated.

Corey L. Rushton


Phone: 801-879-8380


Division 1: West Valley City (Granger-Hunter Improvement District)

  • Current term expires January 2020
  • Trustee, Granger-Hunter Improvement District
  • Councilmember At-Large, West Valley City 2007 – 2016
  • Mayor Pro Tem, West Valley City 2010 - 2016
  • Founding Chair, Jordan River Commission
  • Chairman, National League of Cities-First Tier Suburbs Council 2011-2014
  • Part Owner and Proprietor of Rushton Farms
  • Former Chair, West Valley City Redevelopment Agency
  • Former Staff Assistant, United States Senate, Washington DC
  • Master of Public Policy - University of Utah

Scott L. Osborne

Vice Chair

Phone: 801-254-3991


Division 5: City of South Jordan

  • Current term expires January 2020
  • Former Mayor of South Jordan
  • Owner of Osborne’s Engineering Supply Co., Inc. and Vision Perfect Software

Ronald E. Sperry

Finance Committee Chair

Phone: 801-255-9124


Division 6: Draper Irrigation Company, Draper City in Salt Lake and Utah Counties, Utah Department of Corrections, and Midvale City

  • Trustee since 2009, current term expires January 2020
  • Current Executive Vice President/CFO for First Utah Bank, member of Executive Management Committee, and member of Board of Directors
  • Board member - First Utah Bancorporation
  • Board member - Premier Data Corporation
  • Board member - Skyline Mortgage Solutions
  • Former director and executive officer of several bank-related companies
  • Member, Utah Bankers Hall of Fame since 2008

Lyle C. Summers

Conservation Committee Chair

Phone: 801-694-4417


Division 4: West Jordan City

  • Current term expires January 2022
  • Former Division of Water Resources Economist and Water Education/Conservation Manager
  • Former President, Utah Water Conservation Forum Board of Directors
  • Associate member Governors Council of Economic Advisors
  • Former member and Chair, West Jordan Water Conservation Committee
  • Former Chair, West Jordan Open Lands Committee

Gregory R. Christensen

Phone: 801-969-4369


Division 2: Kearns Improvement District, Magna Water Company, Hexcel

  • Current term expires January 2022
  • Trustee, Kearns Improvement District Board (2nd Term)
  • Former Chair, Kearns Improvement District Board
  • Former member, Kearns Community Planning Commission
  • Former member, Kearns Community Council
  • Former member, Chamber West Board
  • Member, American Water Works Association
  • Member, Water Environment Federation
  • Long-time resident of Kearns

Wm. Brent Johnson

Phone: 385-434-9253


Division 8: Bluffdale City, Herriman City and Riverton City

  • Current term expires January 2020
  • Riverton City Councilmember, 2nd term
  • Safety Manager, Rio Tinto/Kennecott (2012- present)
  • Various certifications in safety management systems, workplace safety and construction safety
  • Graduate of Brigham Young University

Karen D. Lang

Phone: 801-259-6761


Division 1: West Valley City (Granger-Hunter Improvement District)

  • Current term expires January 2020
  • Owner Oakbridge Greenhouse, West Valley City since 1983
  • City Council member District 3, West Valley City 2012 - Present
  • Member, West Valley City Redevelopment Agency 2015 - Present
  • Member, West Valley City Clean and Beautiful Committee 2015 - Present
  • Member, West Valley City Tree Committee 1994 - Present
  • Member, Jordan Valley Medical Center Governing Board 2015 - Present
  • Member, West Valley City Planning Commission 1997 - 2007

Stephen W. Owens

Phone: 801-983-9800


Division 7: JVWCD retail system, Murray City, City of South Salt Lake, Willow Creek Country Club, White City Water Improvement District

  • Current term expires January 2022
  • Attorney with Epperson & Owens Law Offices
  • Elected President of the Utah State Bar (2009-10)
  • Utah Civility and Community Advisory Council (2011)
  • The Inclusion Center (non-profit) Board Member
  • Rated AV/Preeminent (highest) by Martindale Hubble
  • Named one of Utah’s "Legal Elite" by Utah Business Magazine (2006-present)
  • Harry S. Truman Scholar

John H. Taylor

Phone: 801-558-2465


Division 3: Taylorsville City (Taylorsville-Bennion Improvement District)

  • Current term expires January 2022
  • City Administrator, Taylorsville City
  • Former Community Services Division Director, Taylorsville City
  • Former Associate Senior Project Manager, Forsgren Associates, Inc.
  • BS, Civil Engineering, University of Utah